Parenting a Teenager

1 Corinthians 13:4a, “Love does not give up.” (NLV)

From the time I was a little girl, I knew I wanted to be a mom. The first moment I held my daughter, I never knew you could love someone so much. I loved my parents and I loved my husband, but being a mother was the strongest love I had ever felt. From that moment on, my life revolved around the love of that child.

That little girl is just as strong-willed as her mother. Getting dressed for preschool may well have been the start of a world war…every morning. Getting her to sit quietly in church was physically exhausting. On the other side, she truly was the perfect child. She never got in trouble and she was always the first one to rush to the scene of a hurt child on the playground. She always shared her toys and never hurt another child’s feelings. She was very mature for her age – like a 30-year-old in a 3-year-old body. Her Kindergarten teacher told us that she should be a judge or lawyer – because she has such a strong sense of fair and justice.

My mom used to tell me – “Just wait. It’s coming.” Keep in mind, I am the oldest of four younger sisters and one brother. My mom and my step-mom would tell me – “You are in for it. Wait till she’s a teenager.”

Well, now she IS teenager and my heart is breaking. How can this child that taught me to love so deeply, make me so angry? How can I be so hurt by her words and even expressions? How can I let my emotions get so out of hand because of the attitude of a 13-year-old?

From my devotional this morning, 1 Corinthians 13:4a “Love does not give up,” I am determined to not give up.  I don’t think I am going to change her or her attitude -teenagers across all of time have been known to push their parent’s to the edge – so, I think I am going to have to change myself and my reactions to her.

2 Timothy 1:7 For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline.

 

Dear Heavenly Father,

I thank you for the gift of a daughter. A daughter that was and is so wanted and loved. I realize becoming a teenager means pushing your parents away and learning to become your own person. I need your guidance and wisdom to be the parent I want to be. You have given us a Spirit that does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline. Help me to recognize when I am responding in frustration, and have the self-discipline to demonstrate love in all circumstances.

One thought on “Parenting a Teenager

  1. Lisa says:

    This is how I feel and so on target!!!!! This has made me realize it is me I need to change as well for I will not change the teenage boy/man before me…. Giving me new hope……

    Like

Leave a Reply

