The Electronic Appendage

I’m not sure how we got here, but cell phones have become a mortal enemy in this house. We held out as long as we could before purchasing a phone for our oldest child. When we finally caved, there was quite a bit of rationalizing our decision. Number one and two would be at gymnastics four or five days a week and having a cell phone would give them the ability to call home if needed before practice ended. Sounds rational? Right?

No longer in gymnastics, but now in middle school number one still has more freedom then the other two, so keeping the phone sounded like a good idea – again – rationalizing.

This phone has gone from being a matter of convenience to an electronic appendage. I can’t say it’s only our child, as I do see other kids constantly looking at their phones as well. (Rationalizing again.) The first thing that we remove as a punishment is the phone, because that is the only thing that seems to have any impact. I’m beginning to think that she believes she cannot function in life without having her phone in her hand – hence the electronic appendage.

Proverbs 22:6 Start children off on the way they should go, and even when they are old they will not turn from it.

Summer break is quickly approaching, and I have already explained that we are going to implement some “electronic free” days. I’m not sure how painful these days will be (for me), but I want to have real conversations. I want her to be able to participate in life without a phone in her hand. I want her to see that life is beautiful without the added features of captions, background music or filters.

Wish me luck…

One thought on “The Electronic Appendage

Leave a Reply

