The Morning Tornado

Television makes morning routines look so peaceful. The sun is out. The entire family is getting ready for their day, as they meet at the breakfast table for Eggo Waffles, Jimmy Dean Sausage or a bowl of Cheerios. The mom and dad are both enjoying their hot cup of coffee, as they hand off the perfectly packed lunches at the sound of the bus horn. Are you kidding me?? Even on the weekends, my kitchen rarely looks so peaceful (let alone as clean). The only hot cup of coffee I get is the first one, before my shower and before the kids start getting up. Lunches?? I swore my kids would eat a packed lunch, now there are days they yell to me on the way out the door that they need lunch money in their account…before lunch that day! And a bus horn – say what? If our driver blows that horn, you can forget about catching it. I think there is a slight pause in the brakes at the neighbor’s house, and if you’re not out there, you’re not getting on the bus.

Mornings in this house are more like a tornado site. Where are my shoes? Who took my folder? I need that paper signed today? Can you pick me up after school? He’s wearing my shirt! She has on my socks! MOM!! Bathroom door slammed and locked, and two boys bouncing off the walls yelling – I have to PEE! Me in my bathrobe and hair wrapped in a towel refereeing each round, while getting myself ready for the day.

The only solace I can find is in the morning bible verses that I read.

Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in you. Show me the way I should go, for to you I entrust my life. Psalm 143:8 (NIV)

I can’t say that today will be any different then last week, but I can say that I will enter the tornado site with my trust in the Lord. My trust that I can do this without getting frustrated. I can mediate the disagreements with love and not a tone of irritation.

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank you for this day and the opportunity to try again. Thank you for your unfailing love and reminding me that life is not a rehearsed production. With my trust in You, I face the morning rush. I ask that you would guide my words and actions, so that they may be both pleasing to you and build my children up as they prepare for their own day ahead.

 

Leave a Reply

