Day 10: A post from the past

I’m struggling with the amount of information that I want to give in a short 31 days, so I stole one of my posts from several years ago.

March, 2013: Let me tell you about all the crappy things that happen to your body after radiation for colorectal cancer and the removal of your rectum. I think I have told you about a few already.

In normal anatomy, the rectum fills a space in the lowest portion of the pelvis. Well, there’s this little law that Sir Isaac Newton discovered called, the Universal Law of Gravity. If the rectum is removed, the bowels should slowly fall down into that space. Sounds reasonable, right? I just like to be different and defy the expectations. Days after removing my rectum, my vagina took a back dive into that space and my bladder soon followed. Bladder prolapse is a common complaint of older women or maybe someone like…Michelle Duggar.

For me, chemo changed something in my body’s response to injury and instead of producing a normal amount of scar tissue after surgery my body encased my abdomen and my entire pelvic floor in scar tissue. Scar tissue it not like normal body tissue. Some of it becomes hard and rigid and sometimes it’s like a rubber band – stretchy and pliable. For me, it depends on where it is located. My bowels are covered in a spider web of rubber scar tissue, but my pelvis is what I refer to as the cement diaper – nothing in my pelvis can move. The va-jay-jay, my bladder and uterus are permanently held in this awkward position.

Yep, this might be a little too much information at 6 a.m., but it’s these complications that make life interesting. It’s these complications that no one talks about before treatment, and it’s the complications that continue to keep me on my toes.

While this post is from four years ago, I still live with the same complications. The good news, as described by my urogynecologist, that scar tissue is so thick that I shouldn’t have to worry about further prolapse. It’s stuck for life.

Leave a Reply

